CUTC - Council of University Transportation Centers

2022 CUTC Winter Meeting
Annual Awards Banquet


Thanks for Joining Us: January 8-9, 2022

About the Meeting

Thank you for joining us online and in Washington for our Annual Awards Ceremony and our Annual Winter Meeting. We will be posting the recordings as they become available.

Awards Ceremony | January 8

The CUTC Awards Ceremony was a virtual event again this year, thank you for joining us. We celebrated our top students, professionals and centers.

Student Awards

The Milton Pikarsky Memorial Award is for the best Doctoral dissertation and Master’s thesis in the field of science and technology in transportation studies.

  • Milton Pikarsky Memorial – Masters
    Brian Staes, University of South Florida
  • Milton Pikarsky Memorial – Ph.D.
    Yan Zhang, Washington State University

The Charley V. Wootan Memorial Award is for the best Doctoral dissertation and Master’s thesis in the field of policy and planning in transportation studies.

  • Charley V. Wootan Memorial – Ph.D.
    Atiyya Shaw, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Charley V. Wootan Memorial – Masters
    Xinyi Wang, Georgia Institute of Technology

The Neville A. Parker Award is for non-thesis master’s project reports in the field of policy and planning, and science and technology.

  • Neville A. Parker (MS/ME) – Policy & Planning
    Joseph Dever, University of Florida
  • Neville A. Parker (MS/ME) – Science & Technology
    Qianwen Li, University of South Florida

Professional Awards

The CUTC Workforce Development and Technology Transfer Leadership Award is given annually to as many as two institutions that demonstrate outstanding leadership in designing and delivering workforce development and technology transfer programs. This is the first year for this award category.

The Cambridge Systematics (CS) New Faculty Award is given annually to a tenure-track faculty member in transportation education, recognizing outstanding teaching and research contributions to the transportation field.

  • 2022 Award Winner:
    Dr. Neda Masoud, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor

The CUTC-ARTBA Award for Administrative Leadership is given annually to an individual in a staff position or non-tenure-track faculty position in support of administration of a CUTC member institution transportation center and recognizes outstanding administrative leadership contributions to the transportation field by non-academic appointments.

  • 2022 Award Winner:
    Dr. Stan Caldwell, Carnegie Mellon University

CUTC-HNTB Lifetime Achievement Award for University Transportation Education and Research

  • 2022 Award Winner:
    Dr. Andrew Farkas, Morgan State University

CUTC Lifetime Achievement Award for Transportation Professional and Public Service

  • 2022 Award Winner:
    Al Biehler, PE, Traffic 21/Carnegie Mellon University, Heinz College

Meetings (synchronous hybrid) | January 9

These meetings were held in-person at the Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel and online.



USDOT UTC Student of the Year Awards

Each federally funded USDOT UTC selects a Student of the Year and they are honored at the CUTC Student of the Year Banquet every January.

2022 USDOT UTC Student of The Year Awards



  • Dunsin Fadojutimi, Morgan State University
  • Saman Farhangdoust, Florida International University
  • Diarmuid Gregory, University of Vermont
  • Kal Hart, South Dakota State University
  • Hana Herndon, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • John Higgins, University of Wyoming
  • Lauren Hill-Beaton, Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
  • Oscar Huang, Texas A&M University
  • Hailee Kulich, University of Pittsburgh
  • Daniel F. Ortiz Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
  • Bo Qiu, University of North Carolina at Charlotte
  • Alexandria Rossi-Alvarez, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
  • Riley Ruskamp, University of Nebraska–Lincoln
  • Kristen Sanchez, Texas A&M University
  • Brandt Souvenir, University of Idaho
  • Brian Staes, Oregon State University
  • Mohhammad Afsar Sujon, West Virginia University
  • Jorge Ugan, University of Central Florida

Public Transit


  • Zakhary Mallett, University of Southern California
  • Bianca Mers, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Christian David Sprague, Cornell University



  • Marissa Brown, San Jose State University
  • Regan Buchanan, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Joshua H. Davidson, University of Pennsylvania
  • Mitchell P. Fisher II, Auburn University
  • Rick Grahn, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Sarah Grajdura, University of California, Davis
  • Nadim Khairallah, University of California, Irvine
  • Rachael Thompson Panik, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Kelly Rodgers, Portland State University
  • Matthew Stanley, Clemson University
  • Alexander Sundt, University of Michigan
  • Carly Venditti, Texas A&M University
  • Emma Vinella-Brusher, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • Brittany Nicole Waggener, University of New Orleans

Thank you to our Supporters

Platinum Level


Gold Level

Silver Level